Slide 1 Slide 2
Welcome to The Music Academy

"Founded in 1928 as an outcome of the music conference that was held in conjunction with the All India Congress Session in Madras city the previous year, it was conceived to be the institution that would set the standard for Carnatic music."

On Thursday the 2nd July 2015 at 6.30 p.m. At the Kasturi Srinivasan Hall

"Gopalakrishna Bharathi Day" – Sandeep Narayan (Vocal), B. Ananthakrishnan (Violin), Tanjore K. Praveen Kumar (Mridangam) – All are welcome – Programme under the endowment of Dr. Malathi Rangaswami

The Music Academy Awards 2015

At its meeting held today, 21st June 2015, the Executive Committee of the Music Academy has unanimously chosen the outstanding and widely acclaimed Carnatic musician Shri Sanjay Subrahmanyan for the prestigious "Sangita Kalanidhi" Award and for presiding over the 89th Annual Conference of the Music Academy to be held from 15th December 2015 to 1st January 2016.  Shri Sanjay Subrahmanyan is a vocalist par excellence and the torch bearer of his generation of Carnatic musicians. At the young age of forty-seven, he joins the illustrious line of stalwarts who had received this coveted award before they turned fifty, like Ariyakudi Ramanuja Iyengar, Musiri Subramania Iyer, Maharajapuram Viswanathan Iyer, Semmangudi Srinivasa Iyer, G.N.Balasubramaniam, M.L.Vasanthakumari, M.Balamuralikrishna and a few others. He will be conferred the "Sangita Kalanidhi" title at the Sadas on 1st January 2016.  

Admissions open for I year in the Advanced Diploma in Carnatic Music (Vocal).

Duration:3 years with 2 semesters every year, Mid July – November end and Mid January – June end
Classes: Monday thru Friday 0800 am – 12:30 pm
Eligibility : Applicants should have minimum educational qualification of Plus Two (successfully completed)
Age: 18 to 35 years

Should be able to sing Varnams and Kritis with knowledge of Manodharma Sangita.
Applicants should send their bio-data giving full details of their musical training.
Shortlisted Applicants will be called for an interview by the Academic Council. Selected candidates will be intimated. The decision of the Academic council will be final and binding.

Number of seats available: 10
Last date for receiving applications: Saturday, July 4, 2015
Classes Commence: July 23, 2015.

Sangita Kalanidhi Smt. R. Vedavalli – Director,Sangita Kalanidhi Trichur Ramachandran, Prof. Ritha Rajan – Academic Coordinator, Vidhushi. Dr.RS Jayalakshmi – Academic Coordinator, Sangita Kala Acharya Sri PS Narayanaswamy,Sangita Kala Acharya Smt. Suguna Varadhachari, Vidvan Sri Neyveli Santhanagopalan,Vidhushi.Smt.S. Sowmya, Vidushi Smt. Shyamala Venkateshwaran, Vidvan Sri. Sriram Parsuram.

For further details please contact:
(Old No. 306), New No. 168, T.T.K. Road, Royapettah Chennai 600 014.
Tel: 2811 2231 / 2811 5162
Email: /

Music Class 2015

Applications are invited for the following:
Instrumental Classes: Part time (Weekly 2 classes, 6 years course) in Mridangam & Veena.
Violin (5 years Course).
Vocal for Beginners (4 years course) - The Candidates who have the standard of singing Varnams will be eligible for third year.

Mridangam: Director - Sangita Kalanidhi Umayalpuram K. Sivaraman; Veena - Vidushi R Ramani; Violin - A Senior Violinist .

For details contact: 28112231, 28115162
Last Date for receipts of application: 30th June 2015

VOCAL CARNATIC MUSIC TEACHERS REQUIRED FOR SIFAS (Singapore Indian Fine Arts Society, Singapore)

SIFAS is an affiliated institution of The Music Academy, Madras.
Candidates preferably in the age group of 30-50 years with commendable track record as performers/ teachers with necessary qualifications and with not less than 6-10 years of teaching experience may apply giving details with supportive documents by email to : with cc to .

Hard copies can also be sent to : The Manager, The Music Academy, Madras, 168, TTK Road, Chennai 600 014 on or before May 15, 20015.

Eligible candidates may be called for an interview within a short notice and selected candidates may have to join during June 2015.

No correspondence other than applications will be entertained in this regard.

The Annual Spirit of Youth Festival

The Annual Spirit of Youth Festival featuring Music and Dance will be held by the Music Academy Madras from 2nd to 11th August 2015.

Age Group - 18 to 25 years.

Download the application forms here.

The applications completed may be sent to the Music Academy. The last date for receipt of completed applications is on or before 30th April 2015.